Ofrendas para el día de los muertos

For those of you getting ready for El día de los muertos, here’s a project I do with my 1B’s.  If you search el día de los muertos on my blog, you’ll find even more resources.  Hope you find it useful!

When I teach cultural topics I like for the students to create something from the target culture or from their experience in lessons, that way it wasn’t just a “cultural Friday” type of activity.  For el día de los muertos, I have the students create altars or ofrendas in honor of a deceased Hispanic celebrity.  It’s great because not only do the students learn about a famous Hispanic they get to experience hands on (to some extent) the process that goes into making an ofrenda for someone who has passed away.

The first thing I have them do is research a deceased Hispanic celebrity.  Students get a person from a list I have created at random.  They then research where the person was from, about their life and why they were famous.  After learning about el día de los muertos, I then present the project to them.  I show them images of the shoebox ofrendas previous classes have made and explain to them that they will create an ofrenda for the person they studied.  Their task is to not only create an ofrenda, but create it in honor of that person- thinking about what items they can place on the altars that really represent their person of study.  Here are some examples!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

What do they need to make the ofrendas?  They need a shoebox and some creativity! Some students buy little scrapbooking stickers, use clay, toys, and images to use on their altar.  The flowers they use are usually from a craft store and they some how find battery powered candles to put there too (since I won’t allow the real thing). The final product is what you see in the slideshow, plus they do a small write up of who their person was and why they put what they put on their altar.

Here is my TPT for this project.

Do you do something special to celebrate el día de los muertos?

4 thoughts on “Ofrendas para el día de los muertos

  1. Can you post the list you use for the famous Hispanics?

  2. This is really a great idea. I am going to offer it to my students. Wonderful way to learn what the day of the Dead means. MUchas gracias

Leave a Reply

