El día de los muertos

El día de los muertos is in just a few short weeks!  I do this mini-unit with my 1B’s and they love it because they get to do so many neat activities.

To get things started I created a webquest for the students to do online.  The site I use for the quest is great since it gives a great overview of the holiday, has some videos and great images.

http://www.azcentral.com/ent/dead/

Here is the webquest I use- on TPT

http://www.teacherspayteachers.com/Product/El-Dia-de-los-Muertos-Webquest-1510908

I then plan on reviewing the quest with them and showing them a few videos to prompt discussion about what this day is really like and how it is NOT like Halloween.  Here are some of the videos I use.  These are in English, but I teach level one and finding cultural videos in Spanish they can comprehend at their level is hard to do.

I found a great song on http://www.colby.edu/~bknelson/SLC/ofrendas/teachers.php

I looked for it on youtube and found it! It’s called Ofrendas, by Pedro Guerra.  The video is amazing as it has so many visuals you can discuss with your students in the Target Language.

Here is the song – on TPT

Another activity I do is an A/B cultural information gap activity.  Similar to what you might use to practice vocabulary, but with culture.  Here it is.

DOD_AB_Sharing

I also do this ofrenda project each year! The students love it!

TPT

IMG_1433 IMG_1434 IMG_1441 IMG_1442 IMG_1443 IMG_1444 IMG_1451

What resources do you use to teach the Day of the Dead? Do you have any good videos in Spanish?

5 thoughts on “El día de los muertos

  1. I have my students make “ofrendas” to remember family members or famous people who have died. They need to include a description the person and some things he/she liked. I also show the Teachers Discovery video about the holiday. We do craft activities, such as making mascaras,calacas, papel picado, etc. Check out my wiki that shows some sample ofrendas!

    http://akatzlms.wikispaces.com/El+D%C3%ADa+de+los+Muertos

  2. Pingback: Brillante Viernes: October 4, 2013 | Maris Hawkins

  3. Yo vivio en el estados unitos, Nos tengamos una dia muy simalar, pero los muertes no es tan importante por que la dia es para ninos y ninos no le gustan personas muertas, Ninos le gustan dulces mas.

Leave a Reply

