El abecedario

I’m finishing up my mini-unit on el abecedario.  It’s not my favorite unit, as I have struggled with finding authentic resources to use with my students.  I came across a post on Neil Jone’s Resources and Ideas for Language Teachers Blog where he created a PowerPoint using a clip from the Spanish game show Cifras y Letras.  Amazing- I was so happy to finally find some authentic audio with letters!  If you search the game show on youtube you’ll find TONS of episodes that you can use in your class, not only for the alphabet but for numbers too!  I used many of the episodes as audio practice in class and today I used 4 segments from the show for a listening assessment.

Here is my assessment – 7grado_Unidad1_Prueba_Numeros_Letras

And here is the link for the video with the minutes for each segment.

1. N I M A M A C F N (5:34)
2. L E T E ñ I N U T (7:00)
3. L I I A J O T E N (12:55)
4. T E X O M I S A S (14:13)
Here are some more resources from another post I did on the alphabet.
What resources do you use to teach the alphabet?

4 thoughts on “El abecedario

  1. I feel the same way about the alphabet. With lots of help, I changed the goals. One was “I can say what channel a show is on.” We had a lot of fun with that. Other was where they asked/answered names and how to spell them. I gave them some famous Hispanic people cards so they were spelling unknown names.

Leave a Reply

