Cognates!

Teaching students about cognates is one of the very first lessons that I do.  It’s so, so important that students learn strategies to become good language learners and utilizing cognates is one of them!  This year I dedicated two lessons to this topic. Here’s what I did!

 

Lesson 1 (thank you Creative Language class!)

I used the creative language class powerpoint for Spanish 1 learners about Cognates (on their TPT)

I then found pictures of signs from around the Spanish-speaking world and had them work in pairs to pick out the cognates they found

Lesson 2

Thanks again to CLC because I used their magazine cognate search activity.  The only thing I modified was that the students were assigned a letter or two to work with.

How do you teach cognates?

 

Leave a Reply

