¡De vuelta a clases!

Well, it’s that time of year again!  Summer has quickly come to an end and as most teachers I’m now thinking about and anxious about the new school year!  I’ve spent the last 10 weeks or so at home with my children and new baby Julián- I’m really nervous this year because he’ll be starting daycare and of course I’m a hot mess of emotions right now, but hopefully new school projects will help me keep busy and the days go by quicker!

Mil Gracias to the Creative Language Class blog– As always they inspire me to be a better teacher! Last year they motivated us to create super cool bulletin boards for our students and this year they pushed us to spice up our syllabus!  I didn’t get mine done in time to submit for their contest, but here it is anyways.  Please give me feedback!  The old one was SUPER boring- just plain text and NO PICTURES!  Here is what I came up with- I used a newsletter template on Word and just added some pictures and cool font- it definitely looks better than before and I LOVE everyone’s really cool ideas like adding in a pie chart and a QR code.  I think my kiddos will find this cheverísimo…

7thgrade_newsletter

Even though I had my syllabus from years past, I was really stuck on what to put on it.  I took away most of the wordy parts and tried to make it clear and to the point.  Now, I’m thinking about how to present it- should I just go over it? do a scavenger hunt? hmmm…. decisiones…

What do you think?  What do you put in your syllabus?  Do you just read it to them? Have them read it to eachother???

5 thoughts on “¡De vuelta a clases!

  1. I really like your policies, especially the layout and wording. I like to use a Prezi or PowerPoint to present my policies and then do a scavenger hunt. I saw a neat idea for a scavenger hunt on Pinterest using Qr codes that might be fun. Good luck to you for the new school year and thanks for sharing all of your great ideas!

  2. What an excellent syllabus! You’re right, a 2 page document with nothing but words does not get read even by the parents! I really like this idea and you’ve inspired me to update my own! Thanks!

  3. I unfortunately can’t read your document as I don’t have MSWord.

  4. Thank you so much for this great idea!

Leave a Reply

