Me gustas tú

I’m sure you’ve probably used the classic Manu Chau song Me gustas tú to practice me gusta in your Spanish class.  I have too- and the kids love it but this year I was hoping to go beyond the basic cloze activity.

I recently attended MaFla, my states world language conference and most of the sessions I attended had to do with music.  One workshop I attended gave me some great ideas on how to use songs in class and of course being who I am I have to try things out immediately or else I forget.

Here is my plan for the song…and I use the teachertube version that scratches out the marijuana part- something I don’t like to do but have to because I don’t want parents upset with me.

1.  Listen, without the lyrics to follow and tally how many times they hear the phrase “me gusta”

2.  Watch the teachertube video that has images that correspond with the vocabulary in the song- I will have them draw pictures of the new words that they learn

3.  Listen to the song again and do a cloze activity

4.  I typed of some of the me gusta statements from the song and then will have the students agree/react to the statements by using a mí también – which is our new focus for that lesson

Other than cloze activities, what other things do you do with songs?

Leave a Reply

